Home » News » Tiverton Student Awards

Tiverton Student Awards

We were delighted to welcome our Tiverton award-winning learners to the Tiverton Hotel for our awards evening on 26 April.

Every year, Petroc awards a select group of students with our prestigious Student Achievement Awards. These awards are put forward by the learners subject lecturers and recognise the student’s hard work, dedication and achievements over the last 12 months – both inside and outside the classroom.

Principal and CEO Sean Mackney, who opened our awards evening said: “Having the opportunity to reward our students’ achievements in person is a privilege and highlight of the college year. The evening was about recognising and celebrating the hard work, dedication, and tenacity of all our students. Our students have done some amazing things this year, for themselves and for our community. These awards demonstrate that Petroc students excel”

Sheena Murphy- Collett, Vice Principal of People, Organisational Development and Engagement said, “I am always delighted and humbled to attend our student awards evenings. They indicate the closing of one chapter and the start of a new. I wish all our learners every success and request them to keep in touch!”

Our guest speaker, Peter Morrish made a very inspiring speech to our award winners. He said about the night, “It was an honour and truly humbling experience to be a guest speaker tonight. These exceptional students are destined to be inspiring community members and leaders, driving mid and north Devon forward. Keep striving for excellence; the sky’s the limit!”

Campus Manager Nicky White, who presented the awards, said: “We’re incredibly proud of all our learners, and these awards have been given to the ones who have gone above and beyond to achieve their full potential. It’s been a challenging few years, and we’re so happy to be able to celebrate their resilience and hard work with these amazing awards.”

This year’s Award Winners are:

  • Excellence through Learning Award for Construction: Logan-Peter Pollington
  • Excellence through Learning Award for Health & Social Care: Alanna Luxton
  • Excellence through Learning Award for Preparation for Adulthood: Aidan Harris
  • Empowerment Award for Construction: Aaron Jenkins
  • Empowerment Award for Health & Social Care: Maddie Youel
  • Community Award for Construction: Isaac (Zak) Wilson
  • Community Award for Health & Social Care: Tyler Henry
  • Students’ Lecturer Award 2023: Alison Nicoll, Hannah O Donnell, and Nicola Maxfield
  • Sustainability Award: Nathan Cleverley
  • Access Student of the Year: David Plummer
  • Adult Student of the Year: Laura Simpson
  • Higher Education Student of the Year: Shannon Griffiths
  • Most Inspiring Student Award: Danny Tonkin
  • Outstanding Student Award: Aidan Harris


27 April 2023


College news, Awards